A+ R A-

Ghanaian players miss out on BBC African Player Award shortlist


By Edmund Bobie


The five candidates for the BBC African Footballer of  the year Award have been revealed by the British media outfit. 

Two Nigerians Mikel Obi and Victor Moses made the list alongside holder, Yaya Toure, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Burkina Faso forward Jonathan Pitroipa.

The winner will be decided by African football fans and the winner will be announced on Monday, 2nd December 2013.


Previous winners of the award

2012 - Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

2011 – Andre Ayew (Ghana)

2010 - Asamoah Gyan (Ghana)

2009 - Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast 

2008 - Mohamed Aboutrika (Egypt)

2007 - Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo)

2006 - Michael Essien (Ghana)

2005 - Mohamed Barakat (Egypt)

2004 - Jay Jay Okocha (Nigeria)

2003 - Jay Jay Okocha (Nigeria)

 2002 - El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)

2001 - Sammy Kuffour (Ghana)

2000 - Patrick Mboma (Cameroon)

International Other Sports