A+ R A-

Kumasi Asante Kotoko name 26-man squad for Africa


Kumasi Asante Kotoko have submitted the names of 26 players for next year’s Confederation of African Football (CAF) Champions League.

Goalkeepers – Soulama Abdoulaye, Isaac Amoako and Joseph Addo.

Defenders: Amos Frimpong, Christopher Bonney, Bobie Ansah, Eric Donkor, Joseph Ochaya, Ben Adama, Kwabena Adusei, Abeidku Ainooson, Ohene Brenya and Godfred Asante.

Midfielders: Issah Yakubu, Michael Akuffu, Aminu Mohammed, Jordan Opoku, Larbi Koomson, Richard Mpong, Prince Baffoe, Stephen Oduro and Abdul AzizYusif.

Strikers: Seidu Bancey, Yahaya Mohammed, Isaac Boakye and Basiru Osman.

Kotoko Acting General Manager, Opoku Nti gave the names of the players to asantekotokosc.com in an interview yesterday. Opoku Nti also confirmed that midfielder Michael Helegbe and defender Kofi Agyare have both left Kotoko for Medeama.

He assured Kotoko fans that everything was being done for the club to make a meaningful impact in the 2014 CAF Champions League. He cited the formation and inauguration of the Africa Campaign Committee, which is to steer Kotoko’s Africa participation as an example of some of the things being done for an excellent show in Africa.

“The committee comprises distinguish businessmen. So far they have demonstrated that they can do the job. Besides making personal substantial financial commitments, they have as well been working around the clock to raise a minimum of US$500,000 to support the campaign” said Opoku Nti.

“In the end, supporters’ expectation will be that Kotoko parades an excellent team to wrestle for the continental title” added the Acting General Manager. Last year, Kotoko crashed out of the Champions League at the second preliminary stage, falling to Algeria’s JSM Bejaia.


Source: asantekotokosc.com

International Other Sports